Parks Commission

Public Notice: Applications Now Being Accepted for Parks Commission

Whitehall City Council is accepting resumes for an appointment to the Parks and Recreation Commission for a term running from January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2023.

The commission operates under Sections 60 and 61 of the Whitehall City Charter and is charged with developing policy and procedure, and providing resources for development, maintenance and operation of the parks, playgrounds, recreational facilities and programs for the City. The position pays a $25 expense stipend per meeting and the commission normally meets monthly. 

If you are interested in serving your community in this capacity, please submit a a letter of interest and resume to the Whitehall City Council Office at 360 S. Yearling Road, Whitehall Ohio 43213 or email Letters and resumes will be accepted until 12:00 p.m. on Friday, November 13, 2020. Qualified applicants will be contacted to schedule an interview. 


The Parks Commission is charged with the development, maintenance and operation of the City's parks, playgrounds and recreational facilities and programs. Additionally, they are expected to cooperate with organized groups conducting recreation programs and to stimulate interest in the care and preservation of Whitehall's historical and scenic sites. The Commission is also responsible for appointing the Director of Parks and Recreation. Learn more about the Parks Commission powers and duties from the City Code here.

Parks and Recreation Mission: Whitehall Parks and Recreation is dedicated to promoting and supporting the well-being of families and communities through education, recreation, and utilization of the environmental opportunities the parks offer. 



The Parks and Recreation Commission consists of seven members who serve for a term of three years. Two members are appointed by the Mayor, three members are appointed by a majority vote of City Council and two other members are appointed by the Mayor on the recommendation of the Whitehall Board of Education.  Current members are:

  • John Fetters, Chairman
  • Mike Adkins, Vice-Chairman
  • Chris Bolich
  • Geral Leka
  • Michael McQuate
  • Nathaniel Stewart
  • Katie Quincel