Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is empowered to “conduct studies and surveys, and prepare plans, reports, and maps relative to the overall planning of the growth, development, redevelopment, rehabilitation, and renewal of the City….” In addition, the Planning Commission is tasked to “review and report to the Council its recommendations concerning the City’s capital improvement programs, subdivision, platting, and zoning ordinances and regulations.” Learn more about the Planning Commission powers and duties from the City Code here. 

Specifically, the Planning Commission hears cases concerning:

  • Rezone
  • Special Permits
  • Variances from Overlay District guidelines (1124.10)
  • Lot Splits greater than 1 acre

Application Requirements

Planning Commission applications are available at the Service Department inside City Hall or an electronic copy is available online. Applications are due two weeks prior to the Planning Commission meeting.  The electronic application may be submitted digitally to [email protected]



The Planning Commission shall consist of seven members, composed of the City Administrator and six qualified electors appointed by the Mayor. Current members are:

  • Terry Anderson
  • Barbara Blake
  • Mike Brown
  • Jackie Plank
  • Jason Thomas
  • Denny Roberge